Planning for wool

Since I’m going to have five fleeces of wool come spring, I’ve started doing some research about what I could possibly do with it.

Sell it: while Googling, I’ve noticed eBay has a large quantity of postings for raw wool.  I’m sure there’s a more conventional way to find a buyer, but it is intriguing.  The going price looks like $10 – $20 per pound.  Of course, I have no idea how many pounds of fleece 5 sheep will yield.

Yarn or Felt it: We happen to have a mill pretty nearby.  Central Virginia Fiber Mill will process your wool into yarn, roving batt or felt (for a fee, of course).  Now for a confession – I have no idea what roving batt is.  However, I’ve always wanted to learn how to knit, so this could be a fantastic excuse.

Pay someone else to be crafty: Some mills will not only process and dye your raw wool, but actually make it into something for you.  Zeilinger Wool Co. is one such example, and they’ll even make socks out of your wool.  Crazy!

To get a better idea of what options we have, we’re going to try to attend the Fall Fiber Festival at Montpelier on October 2nd and 3rd.  I had no idea this festival existed prior to owning sheep, and now I’m rather excited about it.

2 responses to “Planning for wool

  1. How ’bout a fiber CSA, ala Cold Antler Farm?
    Found you at Small Measure…I live vicariously through other farmers until I can grab a little patch of land…nice blog!

Leave a Reply

